Created by the General Assembly in 1999, the Capitol Square Preservation Council consists of thirteen individuals with expertise in art, architecture, landscape architecture, history, preservation, and administration. The Secretary of Administration, Clerk of the House of Delegates, and Clerk of the Senate serve as ex-officio members. This group is charged with planning and review of projects that affect the State Capitol, its historic artifacts, other historic buildings on or adjacent to Capitol Square, and the landscape and archaeological features of Capitol Square.

Capitol Square Preservation Council Mission:

Continue the vitality of Virginia’s 216 year-old working Capitol by sustaining the integrity, viability, and dignity of the Capitol as a symbol of a prosperous and democratic Commonwealth.

Contact the Capitol Square Preservation Council

Please use the form below to contact the Capitol Square Preservation Council Office.