About the Council

The Preservation Council’s work is administered by an Executive Director. The Council is required to meet quarterly. In addition, its standing and ad-hoc committees meet as may be necessary.

Notice of Public Meetings

Emergency Board Meeting

There is a Special Emergency Board meeting September 30, from 11 am to noon in House Room 2 of the Capitol Building.
Downlad Meeting Atachment
Directions to the Virginia State Capitol are available here.

The quarterly Board Meeting of the Capitol Square Preservation Council will be held Wednesday, December 14 from 2-4 pm at the Capitol in House Room 3 from 2 to 4 p.m.*

(*Meeting time subject to change.)

Capitol Square Preservation Council Membership

David B. Bradley

Chairman, Senate Appointee

Virginia Museum of Fine Arts
Term Two expires 6/30/19

Edward J. Gillikin, Jr.

Vice Chairman, Senate Appointee

Virginia Society, American Institute of Architects
Term One expires 6/30/20

Robert Baratta

House Appointee

Preservation Virginia / APVA
Term One expires 6/30/18

Madge Bemis

House Appointee

Historic Richmond Foundation
Term One expires 6/30/19

Keyanna Conner

Secretary of Administration

Annie Kasper

Governor's Appointee

Citizen at large
Term One expires 6/30/2020

Lauranett Lee

Governor's Appointee

Citizens’ Advisory Council on Furnishing and Interpreting the Executive Mansion
Unexpired term ending 6/30/18

Robert McGinnis

Virginia Chapter, American Society of Landscape Architects
Term One expires 6/30/2019

The Honorable G. Paul Nardo

Preservation Council Ex Officio Member

Clerk, House of Delegates

The Honorable Susan Clarke Schaar

Preservation Council Ex Officio Member

Clerk, Senate of Virginia

Danielle Simms

Governor's Appointee

Citizen at large
Term One expires 6/30/18

Andrew Talkov

Virginia Historical Society
Term One expires 6/30/2019

Cabell West

House Appointee

Garden Club of Virginia
Term Two expires 6/30/20